Lille - Info (Travel, Hotels, Bars, Directions etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.

JimEFC

Player Valuation: £10m
Hi - this is the first thread I've started here, and I know I'm the new kid, but the Europa draw has thrown up a bit of a coincidence for me. So I thought since I'm posting stuff all over the place I'd start a thread if anyone wants to know more about Lille.

I lived in Lille for nearly 3 years and only left France about 18 months ago, so thought I might be able to help.
Not patronise...help :)

I've done the Lille to Goodison trip many. many times too.

I'm a French translator for a living as well, so can help with language issues on French websites etc.

So if you have questions I'll be happy to answer them as best I can. I know most people have it booked and sorted, or if not they are perfectly capable of doing it themselves, so I'm not saying I know it all, but if I can help then I'll try.

**EDIT**
Main answers are gonna go here now, so read this first before you read all the rest:

It's been mentioned that Anderlecht play Arsenal on the Wednesday night in Brussels, so that's worth knowing if you're staying there/going that route.

1) Who the Fuh Kinell Are You?

Lille OSC, known as LOSC ("losk") to its mates, is northern France's best and most successful club.
Nickname: Les Dogues
Fanzine: Reservoir Dogues (this is pretty much the only reason I made this section)

PS. Some people have asked how Lille is pronounced: it rhymes with Wheel.

2) The Stadium - where and how.

LOSC's official site : Stadium plan, access, parking, directions, etc...all in English:
http://www.losc.fr/en/english/club/grand-stade-lille-metropole

And here's a map of how to get there from the motorway:
http://www.transpole.fr/fr/Voiture/parc-relais-4cantons.aspx

You'll notice there's also a nice video of it getting built and plenty of inside views from the seats.
[Copyright & Intellectual Properties for this video definitely do not belong to Liverpool City Council]