2023/24 Sean Dyche

I don’t even think we play awful footy most of the time. We struggled today because Palace were at home and feeling themselves. It was a very difficult game. Notice how we started getting into good positions directly after Palace scored. It was tactical and we scored the winner. Dyche can turn it on when he wants to. It was a tough game- take it for what it was

Football isn't beautiful to watch atm, but we have 1 point less than after 21 rounds last season, and likely look to be 8 points away from relegation by tomorrow.

I think in last six weeks we've seen the difference between guy with experience of managing in the premier league for nearly a decade now in Dyche. And a complete novice/fraud (circle your favourite term) in Lampard.

Contrary to popular belief Lampard had a decent opening 10 games last season but then you had those poor defeats to Leicester and Bournemouth going into the world cup break and completely imploded afterwards. Marginalising someone like Doucoure who with the present style is completely critical.

Dyche at no point in his tenure has panicked. Not after losing 4-1 at home to Newcastle which things looked really bleak. Not after 1 point from first 5 games. Or after losing at home to Luton.

He's steady and trusting and I think you see that reflected with the team spirit on the pitch currently. It's the best it's been for a while and today is the sort of game that would've been lost 3-2 probably six months ago.

The away form has been genuinely excellent since he came in. I'm actually not sure the team have lost an away game you'd expect at least a draw from under him so far?

So the next step is getting some regular wins at Goodison now which won't be easy but there is at least goals in this team now compared to August/September so that should get a few home wins eventually.

Reposting from the Palace match thread.