For you golfers to discuss.

Status
Not open for further replies.
The penalty was given after a viewer watching it on telly spotted it and emailed in.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/golf/39476590

I reckon she knows what she's doing when she places the ball marker to the side of the ball instead of behind it (she reckon she never realised she had did it) she then picks up the ball and places it back down in front of the marker, I know the arguement will be how can she be gaining an advantage from something as little as half an inch, but if there is a pitch mark or spike mark in front of her ball then she gains an advantage by moving it sideways. It's only a 2 foot putt and at first she's not going to mark it, then for some reason she does.



ANA Inspiration: Lexi Thompson loses play-off following four-stroke penalty

American Lexi Thompson was left in tears after being handed a four-stroke penalty while leading the final round of the first major of the season - and then losing a play-off to So Yeon Ryu.

She incorrectly replaced a marked ball in Saturday's third round - a TV viewer spotted the offence and told officials.

Thompson was leading the ANA Inspiration by two shots when told of the penalty after her 12th hole.

She birdied the 18th to force a play-off which Ryu won at the first hole.

Thompson, 22, had missed a 20-foot eagle putt on the last that would have given her a sensational victory at Mission Hills in California.

Thompson appeared to put a marker at the side of her ball on the 17th green before lifting it and replacing in front of the marker prior to a putt of less than two feet.

The LPGA said she "breached Rule 20-7c (Playing From Wrong Place), and received a two-stroke penalty. She incurred an additional two-stroke penalty under Rule 6-6d for returning an incorrect scorecard in round three."

Her five-under-par third-round 67 was changed to a 71.

"Is this a joke?" Thompson said after being informed by a rules official, before making birdies on three of the last six holes to force the play-off.

"It is unfortunate with what happened, I did not mean that at all, I had no idea that I did it," Thompson later told the Golf Channel.

"I had to regroup myself, my caddie helped me out tremendously, we have a great relationship. I tried to gather myself and I made a great putt at 13.

"But it's all to the fans, they helped me get through the rest of the round and I thank them a lot.

"I learned a lot about myself and how much I have in me. I wasn't expecting what happened today to happen and I will learn from it."

South Korean Ryu was the beneficiary as she claimed a second major title after making a four in the play-off, but admitted her win did not feel right.

"I cannot believe the situation. I didn't even check the leaderboard, Lexi was playing so well. I didn't expect it," she said.

"It hurts me as well, it is a weird feeling but at the same time I am proud of myself."
The LPGA said in a statement: "On Sunday afternoon, the LPGA received an email from a television viewer that Lexi Thompson did not properly replace her ball prior to putting out on the 17th hole during Saturday's third round of the ANA Inspiration.

"She was immediately notified of the breach by LPGA Rules Committee in between holes 12 and 13 of the final round."

And LPGA Tour rules official Sue Witters, who had to break the news to a stunned Thompson, said she understood the outrage of fans but insisted no other option was available.

"What's my choice?" she said. "A violation in the rules and then it would be the opposite story: Oh, they knew, why didn't they do anything about it.

"I can't go to bed tonight knowing that I let a rule slide. You know, it's a hard thing to do, and it made me sick to be honest with you."



 


Still! its pretty sad really.

It is sad like, should be down to the officials to spot it because they are supposed to keep an eye on each player. Also, the LPGA still had the power to ignore the viewer who emailed it in.

I still think though she had spotted something in front of her ball (a pitch/spike mark) and that's why she decided to put the ball marker in the wrong place. Golfers will hardly mark their ball from so close to the hole unless they want to clean the ball, she never cleaned it though, she just put the marker down, picked the ball up, and then just put it right back down again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JLW

The penalty was given after a viewer watching it on telly spotted it and emailed in.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/golf/39476590

I reckon she knows what she's doing when she places the ball marker to the side of the ball instead of behind it (she reckon she never realised she had did it) she then picks up the ball and places it back down in front of the marker, I know the arguement will be how can she be gaining an advantage from something as little as half an inch, but if there is a pitch mark or spike mark in front of her ball then she gains an advantage by moving it sideways. It's only a 2 foot putt and at first she's not going to mark it, then for some reason she does.



ANA Inspiration: Lexi Thompson loses play-off following four-stroke penalty

American Lexi Thompson was left in tears after being handed a four-stroke penalty while leading the final round of the first major of the season - and then losing a play-off to So Yeon Ryu.

She incorrectly replaced a marked ball in Saturday's third round - a TV viewer spotted the offence and told officials.

Thompson was leading the ANA Inspiration by two shots when told of the penalty after her 12th hole.

She birdied the 18th to force a play-off which Ryu won at the first hole.

Thompson, 22, had missed a 20-foot eagle putt on the last that would have given her a sensational victory at Mission Hills in California.

Thompson appeared to put a marker at the side of her ball on the 17th green before lifting it and replacing in front of the marker prior to a putt of less than two feet.

The LPGA said she "breached Rule 20-7c (Playing From Wrong Place), and received a two-stroke penalty. She incurred an additional two-stroke penalty under Rule 6-6d for returning an incorrect scorecard in round three."

Her five-under-par third-round 67 was changed to a 71.

"Is this a joke?" Thompson said after being informed by a rules official, before making birdies on three of the last six holes to force the play-off.

"It is unfortunate with what happened, I did not mean that at all, I had no idea that I did it," Thompson later told the Golf Channel.

"I had to regroup myself, my caddie helped me out tremendously, we have a great relationship. I tried to gather myself and I made a great putt at 13.

"But it's all to the fans, they helped me get through the rest of the round and I thank them a lot.

"I learned a lot about myself and how much I have in me. I wasn't expecting what happened today to happen and I will learn from it."

South Korean Ryu was the beneficiary as she claimed a second major title after making a four in the play-off, but admitted her win did not feel right.

"I cannot believe the situation. I didn't even check the leaderboard, Lexi was playing so well. I didn't expect it," she said.

"It hurts me as well, it is a weird feeling but at the same time I am proud of myself."
The LPGA said in a statement: "On Sunday afternoon, the LPGA received an email from a television viewer that Lexi Thompson did not properly replace her ball prior to putting out on the 17th hole during Saturday's third round of the ANA Inspiration.

"She was immediately notified of the breach by LPGA Rules Committee in between holes 12 and 13 of the final round."

And LPGA Tour rules official Sue Witters, who had to break the news to a stunned Thompson, said she understood the outrage of fans but insisted no other option was available.

"What's my choice?" she said. "A violation in the rules and then it would be the opposite story: Oh, they knew, why didn't they do anything about it.

"I can't go to bed tonight knowing that I let a rule slide. You know, it's a hard thing to do, and it made me sick to be honest with you."


Having seen the footage it's hard to see the infraction. The pitch mark/spike mark thing is a red herring. Pro golfers are allowed to repair pitch marks and spike marks on their lines. It looked to me like she was lining up the maker's name, which is common. There is no way you could have gained an advantage there.
 
Having seen the footage it's hard to see the infraction. The pitch mark/spike mark thing is a red herring. Pro golfers are allowed to repair pitch marks and spike marks on their lines. It looked to me like she was lining up the maker's name, which is common. There is no way you could have gained an advantage there.

Good point mate.

Saying that though the penalty is that she didn't place the ball down in the position she picked it up from.
 
Last edited:
It is sad like, should be down to the officials to spot it because they are supposed to keep an eye on each player. Also, the LPGA still had the power to ignore the viewer who emailed it in.

I still think though she had spotted something in front of her ball (a pitch/spike mark) and that's why she decided to put the ball marker in the wrong place. Golfers will hardly mark their ball from so close to the hole unless they want to clean the ball, she never cleaned it though, she just put the marker down, picked the ball up, and then just put it right back down again.
Are they not allowed to pat spike marks down with the putter if its in their line?
 
Having seen the footage it's hard to see the infraction. The pitch mark/spike mark thing is a red herring. Pro golfers are allowed to repair pitch marks and spike marks on their lines. It looked to me like she was lining up the maker's name, which is common. There is no way you could have gained an advantage there.
Theirs my answer
 
I have to say you would have to be a complete anorak to A)Notice that and B)Report it. Fair play is a massive thing to me, and if she had put the marker in front of the ball, and then put the ball back in front of the marker, as some naughty amateurs do when they have a knee-knocking 2 1/2 ft putt then I would say fair enough, but that is pedantry of the highest order.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Welcome

Join Grand Old Team to get involved in the Everton discussion. Signing up is quick, easy, and completely free.

Shop

Back
Top