FFP / profitability and sustainability

Status
Not open for further replies.

balggy

Player Valuation: £5m
I hadn’t seen a thread on this, so I thought I would ask the question of how concerned people are that we may end up falling foul of the profitability and sustainability rules?

I have limited knowledge of our accounts, but from listening to people who do, the general consensus seemed to be that we will be the first club in the premier league to be in breach of profitability and sustainability.

As no other premier league club has been in breach, it is difficult to estimate the likely punishment. Hopefully it would just be a warning and possibly a fine.

However, if you look at the summer, it seems to be something that the club was concerned about. In the past, Moshiri has been bullish and splashed the cash, despite us all knowing that we were heading for a clash with profitability and sustainability. But this summer, the spend was so low, with clear holes in the squad, you can only conclude this is something the club are worried about.

If you look at the Championship, clubs have faced a points deduction for failing their version of profitability and sustainability. Whilst Derby are going to be hit for going into administration, they are also going to be punished for breaching profitability and sustainability.

My worry is that, just as Oumar Niasse was the only player to be punished retrospectively for diving with a ban, it is easy to have a pop at Everton, and we may be made an example of. I think the big 6 would be happy to see us be made an example of for for daring to try and compete with them and to deter others. Similarly, the other 13 only give a toss about themselves. If Everton are in breach and are hit with a points deduction, it only helps them get higher up the table.

I really don’t know how it will go, but it would be interesting to hear your thoughts on it.