somewhat new to EPL

Status
Not open for further replies.

pgheverton

Player Valuation: £225k
im from america (please dont hold it against me) and ive been paying attention to the EPL for about 5 years now or so. i adopted everton as my favorite team. recently i was 'forced" to purchase the fox (please dont hold this against me) "soccer"channel in my cable tv sports package and i got two channels and its just great. i look forward to saturday/sunday mornings when i can wake up and watch the EPL before my daily dose of american football. they also have serie a and spanish and german leagues too.

right now im watching an FA cup match.ive never played football but i have a hobby of evaluating NFL (american football) talent coming out of the collegiate ranks. ive watched a lot lot of EPL games this year and i must say ive been really shocked by the lack of athleticism of a lot of the players. it seems to me that many of these players have no business being professional athletes. some of them look like the guy you sit next to at work who moonlights as a professional athlete. i know that in sports in america the players are far more athletic than in the EPL.

im not really skilled in the x's and o's of football but it would seem to me that espcially in a game like football that is played in what we who follow the NFL call "space" (maneuvering in the open field) that superior athletes would be even more dominant. i watched everton vs liverpool and although a very exciting game i saw many opportunities where a superior athlete would have helped everton score goals. i saw where there was space for a player but they did not have the athletcism to beat the defender to the ball. which brings me to my point and or question.