BANNED FROM FINCH FARM

Status
Not open for further replies.

alan ball

Player Valuation: £70m
Dear Friends,

As most of you will know, I've been supporting Everton at every level for many years. By every level, that is senior, to reserves, to youth. In recent seasons I've recorded youth match reports, (never, ever critical of any young player) on Grand Old Team which have been tremendously received and I thank you all sincerely for the support you have given me.

I write this with a tremendous heavy heart. I write this in response to all of you who have asked why my U18s match report have stopped. The reason is Everton have took the decision to ban me. Let me explain.

In September 2011, I was denied access to Finch Farm on the grounds that I was from ToffeeWeb / GrandOldTeam. I had been attending and writing for over 12 months but someone at the Club decided enough was enough. Thankfully, the Club changed their mind on banning me and I was allowed to support the Club.

Fast forward 13 months to October 2012 and I received a letter from Mark Rowan head of media and communications on 5th October telling me that with immediate effect I would not be allowed into Finch Farm to write match reports for Grand Old team or any other source for reasons classed as "inappropriate contact" with academy members on the social networking site Twitter.

I was absolutely amazed at the clubs accusations and immediately demanded a meeting with personnel from Everton Football Club to explain this letter and their accusations as I found these comments very disturbing as did my family.

I was asked to attend a meeting at Finch Farm on Monday 15th October at 2pm where I was met by Adam Green the head of safeguarding who chaired the meeting, Darren Griffiths and Mark Rowan both media and Mike Dickinson who is development\education officer were also present.