Everton 2012 Review

Status
Not open for further replies.

Duncan Disordely

Player Valuation: £35m
I was bored so decided to start doing a 2012 Everton review, however even doing just January turned into a bit of an epic. If there's an appetite for it, I will try to do another month each night if I can. Or if anyone else is interested in doing subsequent months, let me know and feel free to add to the thread. ;)

Anyway, this is my first attempt at doing something like this, so i hope you enjoy.

Everton FC 2012 Review

January

The year began in a sad fashion for Blues everywhere as ex-player and youth team coach lost his long battle with cancer on January 1st. RIP Gary.

After yet another poor start to the season, results had improved slightly through November and December leaving the Blues sitting 12th in the league on 21 points, although we were still considerably closer (6 points) to the bottom 3 than the top 4 (15 points).

The previous few transfer windows had been disastrous for Everton, in fact, once the Lescott money had been used up in the summer of 2009, Everton hadn’t spent money on a permanent first team player since. We had patched up a squad using freebies, loans and youth players, during a time that we sold Mikel Arteta, Yakubu and Jermaine Beckford. All the talk was who would be next to balance the books, and yet again Evertonian’s were dreading the transfer window.

Their mood could hardly have been lifted by an insipid performance in a generally poor game on New Years Day away to West Brom. A late Victor Anichebe goal (his first in the league in two years) was enough to nick the points for Everton, and leave the Owl (everyone is fond of Owls) look-a-like Roy Hodgson banging his head (literally) against a wall.

RoyHodgson-banging-head-wall-WestBrom-1325527686t.gif